On the path of a meaningful life

Texts, photographs and videos by Claire B.

Sustainable buildling and light habitats. to transform the act of building and rethink our relationship with living things.
Transition tales. towards an ethical, sustainable and united future.
Travel dispatches. discovering the world between solo journeys and life experiences.
Creative approach. photographic work and videos.

18 January 2016

Gray weather in Okinawa

I land on the Ryukyu archipelago of which Okinawa is a part in increasingly bad weather.
Naha, Okinawa, Ryukyu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld
DISPATCH

Tuesday January 12, boarding around 10am for Okinawa. The 1.5 hour flight takes place peacefully over a particularly compact and impressive sea of ​​clouds. The weather should be gray below. Around Naha Airport, the main city on Okinawa Island, as we descend below the clouds, I see a turquoise blue sea and small coral reefs appear. As I predicted, the weather is all gray.

Rosaries of semi-tropical islands, the Ryukyu Islands evoke Hawaii, Brazil or Southeast Asian countries more than the rest of Japan. The Ryukyu archipelago of which Okinawa is a part, was for centuries independent from Japan. For a very long time, the islands were ruled by local chiefs called Aji, until 1429, when Sho Hashi unified the islands and founded the Ryukyu dynasty. He developed exchanges with China, leading to the development of arts, literature and ceramics in the archipelago. Invaded in 1609 by the Shimazu clan of Satsuma (Kagoshima), the Ryukyu kingdom became for Japan a base of trade with the outside world. In 1879 the kingdom was integrated into Japan and became the prefecture of Okinawa. The Ryukyu culture and language were almost eradicated by the Meiji government. At the end of the Second World War, the Japanese army decided to use the Okinawa Islands as a shield against the Allies. Thousands of civilians perished in battles and the landscape was forever altered. Following the war, Okinawa remained under American control until 1972. Today, many active American military bases are still located on the archipelago.

After settling in my very rustic inn (my room is made up of a bed and that’s it), I go in search of food and take a walk in Naha. Capital of the island and of the prefecture of Okinawa, Naha has a tropical and different atmosphere from Japan which is immediately felt: a sort of calm, relaxed atmosphere, of houses evoking more fishermen’s huts or divers than real dwellings, new beliefs and more tanned and more massive people than on the Japanese continent. On the other hand, Naha, like a majority of Japanese cities and towns which also suffered greatly from the war, is really not very attractive in terms of architecture. The only building that stands out is the magnificent Shurijo castle. Built in the 14th century when Naha was called Shuri, the medieval castle was the administrative center and residence of the kings of the Ryukyu dynasty until the 19th century. The building was destroyed four times by fire! The last time took place during the Second World War. The castle has been completely rebuilt. It is therefore quite strange to walk around in an almost new building when it is supposed to date from the 14th century.

Absolutely magnificent, the complex is made up of a multitude of structures including many doors (to access the castle courtyard), the Seiden (the imperial palace), the Nanden – Bandokoro complex (reception areas), the Hokuden (administrative structure of the government), the Ouchibara (private apartments) … I feel the Chinese influence in its architecture. All of the buildings can be visited and house temporary exhibitions. It is with undisguised happiness but still a little spoiled by the flood of tourists more concerned about finding the entirety of the stamps distributed in the castle than by appreciating the place, that I walk in the different structures. Objects, paintings, dishes and ceramics all more beautiful than the others having decorated the apartments of the king, portraits of the different sovereigns, a set of traditional musical instruments (Shamisen, Biha, Gong …), kimonos, the apartments of the king and queen, the awe-inspiring throne room… all dominated by the color red. I spend a long time trying to imagine life at the time.

Coming out, I wander a little in the park at the foot of the castle, filled with geese and in the streets of Naha. I come across Shîsâ almost everywhere where I look! Traditional sculptures of Okinawa, half lion, half dog, the Shîsâ derive from guardian lions imported from China in the 14th century and are considered as protective guardians capable of repelling the evil forces.

“They are often posed in pairs. In some pairs, the one on the left has a closed mouth and the one on the right, the open mouth. Still on the right, the male keeps his mouth open in order to ward off evil spirits. The female, on the other hand, keeps her mouth closed so that happiness is not saved. ” – Wikipedia

 

The next day is gray and even rainy. All this bad weather is starting to get on my nerves. Since mid-December, I must have had maybe 3-4 days of beautiful sun. Especially since it makes Naha sad and even less beautiful. I came to Okinawa to have good weather, pretty white sand beaches and turquoise water, that is not at all what I got for the moment. Slightly depressed, I take a walk in the city center, the covered alleys and the district dedicated to the ceramics typical of Okinawa. Not many people and sculptures of shîsâ everywhere. The aerial monorail crosses the city with its structure that is almost too futuristic for the environment. In order to escape the bad weather, I go to the Okinawa Prefectural Museum. It also houses the Okinawa Art Museum dedicated to contemporary art. The exterior of the museum looks like a grey, very ugly bunker. I visit the “Museum” section devoted to the history, the second world war, archeology, fauna, arts and culture of Okinawa. The permanent exhibition is huge and extremely interesting. As all the information is available in English, it is with great pleasure that I stay well four hours to document myself and to wander among the costumes, objects, pottery, life-size reconstructions of the environment and of life at the time, traditional songs or photos of life during the war.

The next day, Thursday January 14, the weather is even worse than the day before. Depressed and nervous, I go back to bed under my duvet. When I wake up it is around 11am but the weather is always the same. I admit that I am starting to get a little tired of it. A strong desire to return to France seized me. I still decide to go to the Okinawa Peace Memorial Museum and Park located in the south of the island in the small town of Itoman. I think that outside of the city, the environment should be friendlier with tropical nature and beautiful beaches. But everything seems to be ganging up on me since the one hour bus ride to the museum is mostly done only along small towns with really ugly concrete buildings. The park is also a disappointment since there are not much palm trees or white sand beaches nearby either. A cemetery with monuments by prefectures dedicated to the number of deaths during the Second World War stretches along a small cliff. It is very sad. Like my morale. The rain begins to fall again and I take refuge in the museum. Dedicated to the Second World War, the role of Okinawa and its consequences on the population, the museum is fortunately very interesting and particularly moving. All legends are also available in English. I stay in the afternoon and then return to Naha at dusk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chapter I. Japanese walkabouts

Kyoto, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Six months in Japan

Six months in Japan. Six months of familiarity and strangeness. Misunderstanding and wonder. Contrasts.

Mitaka, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Last days in Japan

My stay in Japan is coming to an end and I take this opportunity to stroll around Tokyo and visit the Ghibli museum.

Osaka, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Across the Kansai

Discovery of Osaka and Nara then weekend on Mount Koya-san before returning to TYK to celebrate hanami.

Takayama, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Takayama matsuri

Stars in my eyes at the superb Takayama Matsuri dedicated to the celebration of spring and good harvests.

Kyoto, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

The art of Kimono

I walk in Kyoto, my eyes dazzled by explosions of colors and varied patterns wandering in front of me. The Kimonos are out.

Kyoto, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Glimpse of Kyoto

For my last day of work at TYK, I was treated to an organized day trip to Kyoto.

Kachigawa, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

In company of Polina

Meet Polina and her family, a young Russian woman working at TYK whom I met a fortnight before the end of my stay in Tajimi.

Tajimi, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Touches of Spring in Tajimi

Second month of work in Tajimi more pleasant than the first and return of the buds and flowers in the trees.

TYK, Tajimi, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Portraits of TYK

Portraits of some of the people I met during my two months of work at TYK.

TYK, Tajimi, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Another vision of TYK

Through twenty photographs, a stroll to discover the factory and its graphic aspect.

Tajimi, Honshu, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Tajimi and ceramics

Tajimi, an industrial city located in the prefecture of Gifu is renowned for its ceramics. I am working here since the beginning of February.

Yufuin, Kyûshû, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Wwoofing in Yufuin

A month of volunteering in the middle of the onsen smokes in the small Youth Hostel Country Road.

Yufuin, Kyûshû, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Arrival on Kyûshû

Arrival on Kyûshû, cradle of Japanese civilization, where I will spend the month of December.

Minami, Shikoku, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

Minami, facing the sea

On the south coast of Shikoku, the small town of Minami exudes tranquility and a maritime atmosphere.

Tokushima, Shikoku, Japan © Claire Blumenfeld

First steps on Shikoku

Arrival in Tokushima on the island of Shikoku, the smallest of the four big islands of Japan.

Copyright content.

Details - Shurijo Castle – Naha - Okinawa – © Claire Blumenfeld

Temps gris à Okinawa

Mardi 12 Janvier, embarquement vers 10h pour Okinawa. Le vol d’une heure trente se passe tranquillement au dessus d’une mer de nuages particulièrement compacte et impressionnante. Le temps doit être gris en dessous. Aux alentours de l’aéroport de Naha, ville principale de l’île d’Okinawa, alors que nous descendons en dessous des nuages, je vois apparaître une mer d’un bleu turquoise et de petits récifs coralliens. Comme je l’avais prédit, le temps est tout gris.

Chapelets d’îles semi-tropicales, les îles Ryûkyû évoquent plus Hawaii, le Brésil ou les pays asiatiques du sud-est que le reste du Japon. L’archipel Ryûkyû dont fait partie Okinawa, fut pendant des siècles indépendant du Japon. Pendant très longtemps, les îles furent dirigées par des chefs locaux appelés Aji, jusqu’en 1429, où Sho Hashi unifia les îles et fonda la dynastie Ryûkyû. Il développa les échanges avec la Chine, conduisant à l’essor des arts, des littérature et de la céramique dans l’archipel. Envahi en 1609 par le clan Shimazu de Satsuma (Kagoshima), le royaume Ryûkyû devint pour le Japon une base de commerce avec l’extérieur. En 1879, le royaume fut intégré au Japon et devint la préfecture d’Okinawa. La culture et la langue Ryûkyû furent quasiment éradiquées par le gouvernement Meiji.  À la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale, l’armée japonaise décida d’utiliser les îles d’Okinawa comme bouclier contre les Alliés. Des milliers de civils périrent dans les batailles et le paysage fut altéré à jamais. Suite à la guerre, Okinawa resta sous contrôle américain jusqu’en 1972. Aujourd’hui, de nombreuses bases militaires américaines en activité sont toujours situées sur l’archipel.

Après m’être installée dans mon auberge, rustique de chez rustique (ma chambre est constituée d’un lit et c’est tout), je pars en quête de nourriture et faire une ballade dans Naha. Capitale de l’île et de la préfecture d’Okinawa, Naha possède une ambiance tropicale et différente du Japon qui se fait tout de suite ressentir : un je ne sais quoi d’atmosphère tranquille, relaxée, de maisons évoquant plus des baraques de pêcheurs ou de plongeurs que de véritables habitations, de nouvelles croyances et des gens plus bronzés et plus massifs que sur le continent japonais. Par contre, Naha, comme une majorité de villes et villages japonais mais ayant en plus beaucoup souffert de la guerre, n’est vraiment pas très jolie coté architecture. Le seul bâtiment qui tire son épingle du lot est le magnifique Château de Shuri (Shurijo castle). Construit au 14ème siècle du temps où Naha s’appelait Shuri, le château médiéval fut le centre administratif et la résidence des rois de la dynastie Ryûkyû jusqu’au 19ème siècle. L’édifice fut détruit quatre fois par le feu ! La dernière fois ayant eut lieu lors de la seconde guerre mondiale. Le château a été entièrement reconstruit. Il est du coup assez étrange de se balader dans un édifice presque neuf alors qu’il est sensé dater du 14ème siècle.

Absolument magnifique, l’ensemble est composé d’une multitudes de structures dont de nombreuses portes (pour accéder à la cour du château), le Seiden (le palais impérial), l’ensemble Nanden – Bandokoro (lieux de réception), le Hokuden (structure administratif du gouvernement), le Ouchibara (appartements privés)… On sent l’influence chinoise dans son architecture. L’intégralité des bâtiments sont visitables et abritent des expositions temporaires. C’est avec un bonheur non dissimulé mais quand même un peu gâché par le flot de touristes plus préoccupés par trouver l’intégralité des tampons répartis dans le château que par apprécier les oeuvres, que je me ballade dans les différentes structures. Objets, peintures, vaisselles et céramiques tous plus beaux les uns que les autres ayant décoré les appartements du roi, portraits des différents souverains, un ensemble d’instruments de musiques traditionnels (Shamisen, Biha, Gong…), des kimonos, les appartements du roi et de la reine, la salle du trône grandiose… le tout dominé par la couleur rouge. Je passe un long moment à essayer de m’imaginer la vie à l’époque.

Shurijo Castle – Naha - Okinawa – © Claire BlumenfeldHokuden (center of political and judicial affairs of the castle) - Shurijo Castle - Naha - Okinawa - © Claire Blumenfeld

En ressortant, je me ballade un petit peu dans le parc au pied du château,  rempli d’oies (je ne suis pas sûre que ça soit des oies) et dans les rues de Naha. Je tombe sur des Shîsâ quasiment partout là où se pose mon regard !  Sculptures traditionnelles d’Okinawa, mi-lion mi-chien, les Shîsâ dérivent des lions gardiens importés de Chine au 14ème et sont considérés comme des gardiens protecteurs capables de repousser les forces maléfiques.

Ils sont souvent posés par paires. Dans certaines paires celui de gauche a la gueule close et celui de droite, la gueule ouverte. Toujours à droite, le mâle garde la bouche ouverte afin d’éloigner les mauvais esprits. La femelle, quant à elle, garde la bouche fermée afin que le bonheur ne se sauve pas.

– Wikipédia

Shîsâ (Okinawa traditional protective guards) - Naha - Okinawa - © Claire BlumenfeldNaha – Okinawa – © Claire BlumenfeldLe lendemain c’est temps gris voir même pluvieux. Tout ce mauvais temps commence à me taper sur les nerfs. Depuis mi-Décembre, j’ai dû avoir peut être 3-4 jours de beau soleil. Surtout que ça rends Naha tristounette et encore moins belle. Moi qui suis venue à Okinawa pour avoir du beau temps, de jolies plages de sables blancs et une eau turquoise, c’est pas trop ça pour le moment. Un peu déprimée, je fais un tour dans le centre-ville, les allées couvertes et le quartiers dédié aux céramiques typiques d’Okinawa. Pas grand monde et des sculptures de shîsâ un peu partout. Le monorail aérien quadrille la ville de sa structure presque trop futuriste pour l’environnement. Afin d’échapper au mauvais temps je me rends au Musée préfectoral d’Okinawa. Il abrite également le Musée d’Art d’Okinawa dédié à l’art contemporain. L’extérieur du musée à l’apparence d’un espèce de bunker tout gris et très moche. Je visite la partie « Musée » consacrée à l’histoire, la seconde guerre mondiale, l’archéologie, la faune, les arts et la culture d’Okinawa. L’exposition permanente est gigantesque et extrêmement intéressante. L’intégralité des informations étant disponibles en anglais, c’est avec un grand plaisir que je reste bien 4 heures à me documenter et à me balader parmi les costumes, les objets, les poteries, les reconstructions à taille réelle de l’environnement et de la vie à l’époque, les chants traditionnelles où les photos de la vie durant la guerre.

Monorail - Naha - Okinawa - © Claire Blumenfeld

Le lendemain, Jeudi 14 Janvier, le temps est encore plus moche que la veille. Déprimée et énervée, je me recouche à l’abri sous ma couette. Quand je me réveille il est aux alentours de 11h mais le temps est toujours pareil. J’avoue que je commence à en avoir un peu marre. Une forte envie de rentrer en France me saisit. Je me décide quand même à aller voir le Musée et Parc Mémorial de la Paix d’Okinawa situé tout au sud de l’île dans la petite ville d’Itoman. Je me dis que en dehors de la ville, l’environnement devrait être plus sympa avec une nature tropicale et de jolies plages. Mais tout à décider de se liguer contre moi puisque le trajet en bus d’une heure pour rejoindre le musée ne se fait principalement que le long de petites villes aux bâtiments en béton vraiment pas beaux. Le parc est lui aussi une déception puisque pas vraiment de palmiers ou de plages de sables blancs à proximité non plus. Un cimetière avec des monuments par préfectures dédié au nombre de morts pendant la seconde guerre mondiale s’étire au bord d’une petite falaise. Il fait bien tristounet. Comme mon moral. La pluie se met à tomber de nouveau et je réfugie dans le musée. Dédié à la seconde guerre mondiale, au rôle d’Okinawa et à ses conséquences sur la population, le musée est heureusement très intéressant et particulièrement émouvant. Toutes les légendes sont elles aussi disponibles en anglais. Je reste l’après-midi puis rentre à Naha à la tombée du jour.

Okinawa Prefectural Peace Museum - Itoman - Okinawa - © Claire Blumenfeld

Mes quelques jours à Naha ne furent pas exactement ce que je m’imaginais. À part le château et les musées pas grand chose de bien intéressant. Le mauvais temps ternit en plus le tableau. Demain je me rends sur l’île d’Aka-jima faisant partie de l’archipel Kerama à 1h30 en ferry de Naha. D’après mon guide, c’est un petit paradis parfait pour la plongée et les ballades tranquilles le long des plages. J’espère que ce sera le cas !

Comments are closed