On the path of a meaningful life

Texts, photographs and videos by Claire B.

Sustainable buildling and light habitats. to transform the act of building and rethink our relationship with living things.
Transition tales. towards an ethical, sustainable and united future.
Travel dispatches. discovering the world between solo journeys and life experiences.
Creative approach. photographic work and videos.

20 November 2016

The Kepler restaurant, for the food lovers

Fiordland specialties with a South American touch, that is what the Kepler restaurant offers, the best place to eat in Te Anau.
Kepler restaurant in Te Anau, Fiordland, South Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld
DISPATCH

Where to eat in Te Anau? The village is not big and the choices in terms of gastronomy are limited. Pizzerias, Asian restaurants, a few New Zealand breweries and bars. And the Kepler restaurant. This is probably the best restaurant in town and it is the one where I have been working since the beginning of November. Before working at Kepler I was not a big fan of fish, octopus or ribs. But Edu’s cuisine turns it all into wonderfully tasty dishes. Kepler Restaurant, whose name pays homage to one of the local Great Walks, has existed in Te Anau for quite some time but has recently changed owners. For the past ten months, it has been run by Eduardo, a Chilean who has been living in New Zealand for ten years. Edu, as its employees call him, decided to create a menu offering Fiordland specialties with a South American touch. He and his kitchen team (Ingrid, Marek, Pablo and Yanette, a mix of Chileans and Argentines) are true artists of the kitchen. Each dish is a mixture of extraordinary flavors with a magnificent presentation that always impresses customers. Seafood platter, Crayfish, lamb chops, milcao, various fish fillets, soups, papas rellenas, ceviche, bread & dips, pasta, chupe, vegetables, pieces of beef and venison, cheesecake, picarones mix in a delightful dish.

For meat lovers, the Lamb Rack is not to be missed. The Ribeye (piece of beef) or the Venison Medallion are also very good, but my heart is in favor of the lamb because of its magnificent presentation and the tenderness of the meat. Eight chops are served with a side dish of vegetables and mash. One of the most tender meat I have ever tasted. As for fish, the specialties of the day such as Crayfish, Seafood Platter, Duo of Fish and Homemade Seafood Pasta are musts. But my number 1 remains the Taste of Earth and Sea for its mixture of fish soup (Hoki fillet) with tomato broth and pork ribs to die for. These are so tender that the bone is almost edible. Everything comes with sautéed vegetables for an absolutely perfect mixture.

The restaurant is not large and only has two rooms but is filled every evening. Superb photographs of Patagonia are hung on the wall, one very similar to Fiordland, most of the customers are trapped. Very pretty blackboards drawn in chalk and made by Dana illustrate the specialties. The music is a velvet glove for the ears, a mixture of jazz, South American music and the great classics of Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan.

The service is performed by Katie (the manager, from the Philippines), Dana (from Argentina), Radek (from the Czech Republic), Thiaré (from Chile) and then me during my few months in Te Anau. A multi-cultural team that works well, full of smiles and good will. During my period of work at the restaurant, I greatly appreciated the pleasant atmosphere that emanates from the place as well as the opportunity to chat with customers to discuss our respective trips. The restaurant is also open in the morning and offers a breakfast mixing again New Zealand specialties (bacon & eggs, toasties) and a South American touch with facturas (croissants) not to be missed. A restaurant waiting for you in Te Anau.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chapter II. The last land

Abel Tasman Track on South Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

New Zealand landscapes

A country with a thousand landscapes. Between rainforest, desert plains, volcanoes, small villages, fjords and high mountains.

Te Puke, Bay of Plenty, North Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

Hands in kiwi fruits

My last few months in New Zealand. Packing kiwis fruits, discovery of White Island and happy moments.

Castlepoint on the North Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

April on North Island

Back on the North Island, I face some difficulties, visit the surroundings of Wellington and experience bad weather on the Taranaki.

Farewell Spit, Tasman region, South Island of New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

Last moments on South Island

Exploration of Farewell Spit and cycle along the Tasman region to reach Picton and the ferry to the North Island.

Aoraki / Mont Cook National Park on South Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

Hiking around Mount Cook

Discovery of the superb Aoraki / Mont Cook National Park and climbing to 1800m to reach Mueller Hut.

Fiordland, South Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

Last days in Fiordland

Three-day misadventure in the valleys of Monowai and Green Lake and preparation for the rest of the trip.

Hobbiton, North Island, New Zealand © Claire Blumenfeld

In the land of the Hobbits

Walking in the footsteps of Frodo through Hobbiton and rediscovering the atmosphere of Peter Jackson’s movies.

Copyright content.

Carnets de voyages et récits de transition vers un avenir éthique et durable

Je m’appelle Claire Blumenfeld et je tiens Peregrinus Mundi depuis 2015. Ce site suit mon évolution dans la vie sous forme de chapitres. Les chapitres I à VI présentent principalement des récits de voyage et photographies. Le chapitre VII suit ma démarche de transition vers un mode de vie basé sur l’écologie et le bien-être à travers trois approches qui m’intéressent particulièrement, la permaculture, l’herboristerie et l’éco-construction.

Le Kepler restaurant, un délice des papilles
Spécialités du Fiordland avec une touche sud-américaine, c’est ce que propose le Kepler, le meilleur restaurant de Te Anau.
Kepler Restaurant à Te Anau, Fiordland, Île du Sud, Nouvelle-Zélande © Claire Blumenfeld
CARNET

Où manger à Te Anau ? Le village n’étant pas gros, les choix en matière de gastronomie sont limités. Pizzerias, restaurants asiatiques, quelques brasseries et bars néo-zélandais. Et le Kepler restaurant. C’est probablement le meilleur restaurant du patelin et c’est celui où je travaille depuis début Novembre. Avant de travailler au Kepler je n’étais pas une très grande amatrice de poissons, poulpe ou travers de porc. Mais la cuisine d’Edu transforme tout cela en petits plats merveilleusement bons. Kepler Restaurant dont le nom rend hommage à une des Great Walks du coin, existe à Te Anau depuis pas mal de temps mais a récemment changé de propriétaire. Depuis une dizaine de mois, il est tenu par Eduardo, un chilien installé en Nouvelle-Zélande depuis dix ans. Edu, comme ses employés l’appellent, a décidé de créer une carte proposant des spécialités du Fiordland avec une touche sud-américaine. Lui et son équipe en cuisine (Ingrid, Marek, Pablo et Yanette, mélange de chiliens et d’argentins) sont de véritables artistes des fourneaux. Chaque plat est un mélange de saveurs extraordinaires avec une présentation magnifique qui impressionne toujours les clients. Plateau de fruits de mer, Crayfish, côtelettes d’agneaux, milcao, filets de divers poissons, soupes, papas rellenas, ceviche, bread & dips, pâtes, chupe, légumes, morceaux de boeuf et de gibier, cheesecake, picarones se mélangent pour le plus grand plaisir des papilles.

Pour les amateurs de viande, le Lamb Rack (ou côtelettes d’agneau) est à ne pas rater. Le Ribeye (pièce de boeuf) ou le Venison Médaillon (gibier) sont également très bons, mais mon coeur penche en faveur de l’agneau du fait de sa présentation magnifique et de la tendresse de la viande. Huit côtelettes sont proposées avec un accompagnement de légumes et purée. Une des viande le plus tendres que j’ai pu déguster. Du coté de poissons, les spécialités du jour telles que le Crayfish, Seafood Platter, Duo of Fish et Homemade Seafood Pasta sont des musts. Mais mon numéro 1 reste le Taste of Earth and Sea pour son mélange de soupe de poisson (filet de Hoki) avec un bouillon à la tomate et ses travers de porc à tomber. Ceux-ci sont tellement tendres que l’os en est presque mangeable. Le tout vient accompagné de légumes sautés pour un mélange absolument parfait.

Le restaurant n’est pas grand et ne contient que deux salles mais est remplit tous les soirs. De superbes photographies de Patagonie sont accrochées au mur, faisant énormément penser au Fiordland, la plupart des clients de laissent prendre au piège. De très jolis tableaux noirs dessinés à la craie réalisés par Dana illustrent les spécialités. La musique est un gant de velours pour les oreilles, mélange de jazz, de musique sud-américaine et de grands classiques de Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald et Sarah Vaughan.

Le service est effectué par Katie (la gérante, venant des Philippines), Dana (venant d’Argentine), Radek (de République Tchèque), Thiaré (du Chili) et puis moi pendant mes quelques mois à Te Anau. Une équipe multi-culturelle qui marche bien, pleine de sourires et de bonne volonté. Durant ma période de travail au restaurant j’ai grandement apprécié l’atmosphère agréable qui émane du restaurant ainsi que la possibilité de discuter avec les clients pour échanger sur nos voyages respectifs. Le restaurant est également ouvert le matin et offre un petit-déjeuner mélangeant de nouveau les spécialités néo-zélandaise (bacon & eggs, toasties) et touche sud-américaine avec des facturas (croissants) à ne pas rater. Un arrêt à ne pas rater. 

——

20 novembre 2016

Textes et photographies par Claire Blumenfeld

——

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Hobbiton, Île du Nord, Nouvelle-Zélande © Claire Blumenfeld

Au pays des Hobbits

Marcher dans les pas de Frodo à travers Hobbiton et retrouver l’ambiance des films de Peter Jackson.

Queenstown, Otago, Île du Sud, Nouvelle-Zélande © Claire Blumenfeld

La ville reine

Deux jours magnifiques à Queenstown, la capitale de l’aventure et station de ski du pays des Kiwis.

Abel Tasman Track sur l'Île du Sud, Nouvelle-Zélande © Claire Blumenfeld

Paysages néo-zélandais

Un pays au mille visages. Entre rainforest, plaines désertiques, volcans, petits villages, fjords et hautes montagnes.

Don`t copy text!