SIX MONTHS IN JAPAN

Familiarity and strangeness. Technology and traditions. Misunderstanding and wonder. Japan is a country of contrasts. A mad, extraordinary, annoying, amazing country. I spent six months, from November 2014 to April 2015. At the time, during my trip, I had a little trouble adjusting to the strange feeling that accompanied me constantly. The strange impression of walking on a wire. This mixture of familiarity and difference attracted me and pushed me away. The blend of American-European culture and Japanese ancestral traditions, absolute kindness and coldness, beauty and ugliness was destabilizing. But that’s what made the trip so interesting. And I have only one desire: to return to immerse myself body and soul.

The old lady of the inn poses in front of me the breakfast dishes: rice, fried fish, seaweed, miso soup, meat in small pieces soaked in a sauce, pumpkin wedges, slices of lotus flowers, some fruit quarters and matcha (Japanese green tea). It is 7am. A thought crosses my mind: but where are the bread and Nutella?

It took me a while to enjoy the typical Japanese meals. Generally presented in traditional inns and restaurants, they are marvels of aesthetics and nutritional benefits. The French taste buds have a little trouble accepting the very subtle or very strong taste of certain foods. But once accustomed, it’s a delight.

What struck and impressed me the most in Japan is the beauty of the aestheticism of the traditions: the kimonos and costumes, the lanterns in the streets, the cherry blossom season, the architecture and scenery of the temples, the presentation of street stands, the festivals … It is, for me, where lies the ancestral soul of Japan. In the details, in the use of colors, in the search of aesthetics.

SIX MOIS AU JAPON

Familiarité et étrangeté. Technologie et traditions. Incompréhension et émerveillement. Le Japon est un pays des contrastes. Un pays fou, extraordinaire, énervant, stupéfiant. J’y ai passé six mois, de Novembre 2014 à Avril 2015.  À l’époque, durant mon voyage, j’ai eu un peu de mal à me faire à cet étrange sensation qui m’accompagnait en permanence. L’impression étrange de marcher sur un fil. Ce mélange de familiarité et de différence m’attirait et me repoussait. Le mélange de culture américano-européenne et de traditions ancestrales japonaises, de gentillesse absolue et de froideur, de beauté et laideur était déstabilisant. Mais c’est ce qui faisait tout l’intérêt du voyage. Et je n’ai qu’une seule envie : y retourner pour m’y plonger corps et âme.

La vieille dame de l’auberge pose devant moi les plats du petit-déjeuner : riz, poisson frit, algues, soupe miso, viande en petits morceaux trempée dans une sauce, quartiers de citrouilles, tranches de fleurs de lotus, quelques quartiers de fruits et du matcha (thé vert japonais). Il est 7h du matin. Une pensée me traverse l’esprit : mais où sont le pain et le Nutella ?

Il me fallut un petit peu de temps pour apprécier les repas typiquement japonais. Généralement présentés dans les auberges et restaurants traditionnels, ce sont des merveilles d’esthétisme et de bienfaits nutritionnels. Les papilles françaises ont un peu de mal à accepter le goût très subtile ou bien très fort de certains aliments. Mais une fois habitué, c’est un délice.

Ce qui m’a le plus frappé et impressionné au Japon, c’est la beauté de l’esthétisme des traditions : les kimonos et costumes, les lanternes dans les rues, la saisons de la floraison des cerisiers, l’architecture et décors des temples, la présentation des stands de rues, les festivals… C’est, pour moi, là que se trouve l’âme ancestrale du Japon. Dans les détails, dans le l’utilisation des couleurs, dans la recherche de l’esthétisme.