NEW ZEALAND LANDSCAPES

Wavy hills, beaches, volcanoes, pastures, snow-capped mountains, fjords, beech and fern forests. And birds. In the country of hobbits, nature is queen. Or what is left of it, because more than half of the country has been cleared by the Maori then by the agricultural and animal exploitation.

Two, three big cities and some small villages dot the country. The rest is composed of sheep, cows and wild nature, relatively little explored. Forests are wet and volcanoes are active. The North Island resembles Tolkien County. The South Island is largely like the Alps and Scandinavian fjords. But the birds are unique and fascinating.

I stayed for a year in New Zealand. From June 2015 to June 2016. There have been ups and downs, difficulties and extraordinary experiences. But what has marked me is an impression of tranquility and feeling of the end of the world. Although largely privatized and therefore quite inaccessible, I took a lot of fun hiking or cycling through New Zealand nature. And to observe the birds. Fiordland, Kea, Tongario, Rotorua, Hobbiton … memories of my year in New Zealand.

PAYSAGES DE
NOUVELLE-ZÉLANDE

Collines ondulées, plages, volcans, pâturages, montagnes enneigées, fjords, forêts d’hêtres et de fougères. Et des oiseaux. Au pays des hobbits, la nature est reine. Ou ce qu’il en reste, car plus de la moitié du pays a été défriché par les maoris puis par l’exploitation agricole et animale.

Deux, trois grandes villes et quelques petits villages parsèment le pays. Le reste est composé de moutons, vaches et nature sauvage, relativement peu explorée. Les forêts y sont humides et les volcans actifs. L’île du Nord ressemble à la Comté de Tolkien. L’île du Sud ressemble en grande partie aux Alpes et fjords scandinaves. Mais les oiseaux y sont uniques et fascinants.

Je suis restée un an en Nouvelle-Zélande. De Juin 2015 à Juin 2016. Il y a eu des hauts et des bas, des difficultés et expériences extraordinaires. Mais ce qui m’a marqué, c’est une impression de tranquillité et de bout du monde. Bien que largement privatisée et donc assez peu accessible, j’ai pris beaucoup de plaisir à randonner ou pédaler à travers la nature néo-zélan aise. Et à observer les oiseaux. Fiordland, Kea, Tongario, Rotorua, Hobbiton… des mots-souvenirs du mon année en Nouvelle-Zélande.