THE ART OF KIMONO

I walk in Kyoto, my eyes dazzled by explosions of colors and varied patterns wandering in front of me. The Kimonos are out. Obi (belt) attached in pretty knots, Zôri and Tabi (traditional sandals and white socks up to the ankles) and elegant chignons. Cell phones and small handbags. Mix of tradition and modernity.

Ancestral practice from China, the port of Kimonos is very codified and today only worn on special occasions. Women wear very colorful clothes while men are more formal.

In the middle of all of these gorgeous costumes, some are even more impressive. Geiko (confirmed geishas) and Maiko (apprentices) attract everybody’s eyes. The majesty of their kimono and makeup associated with their status, fascinate. In a temple, two girls dressed in a beautiful red kimono draw my eye. They wear a brocarded uchiki (kind of long coat) with a tsubo ori (wide straw hat around which hangs a long transparent veil allowing to remain anonymous).

On this morning of April, a torrential rain falls on Kyoto. This is my third day visiting the “City of Traditions”. During these days, I saw more temples and kimonos than in the space of five months. It is dazzling. And the rain does not prevent the wearing of the kimono. To the ensemble is added a new accessory: the umbrella. Traditional, transparent or colorful for even more style.

Walking in Kyoto is walking in the past and in aesthetics. Each kimono is a work of art, a vestige of Japanese traditions. Although deeply rooted in culture, the wearing of the kimono is disappearing. Fewer and fewer Japanese have real kimonos and its use is increasingly limited.

L’ART DU KIMONO

Je marche dans Kyoto les yeux éblouis par les explosions de couleurs et motifs variés déambulant devant moi. Les Kimonos sont de sortie. Obi (ceinture) nouée en de jolis noeuds, Zôri et Tabi (sandales traditionnelles et chaussettes blanches montant jusqu’aux chevilles) et chignons élégants. Téléphones portables et petits sacs à main. Mélange de tradition et de modernité.

Pratique ancestrale originaire de Chine, le port du Kimonos est codifié et aujourd’hui seulement porté lors de grandes occasions. Les femmes portent des vêtements très colorés tandis que les hommes sont plus formels.

Au milieu de tous ces costumes magnifiques, certains sont encore plus impressionnants. Geiko (geishas confirmées) et Maiko (apprenties) attirent tous les regards. La majestuosité de leur kimono et maquillage associé à leurs statut, fascinent. Dans un temple, deux jeunes filles vêtues d’un kimono rouge superbe attirent mon oeil. Elles portent un uchiki brocardé, (sorte de long manteau) avec un tsubo ori (large chapeau de paille autour duquel pend un long voile transparent permettant autrefois de garder l’anonymat).

En ce matin d’Avril, une pluie torrentielle s’abat sur Kyoto. C’est mon troisième jour de visite dans « la ville des traditions ». En l’espèce de ces quelques jours, j’ai plus vu de temples et kimonos qu’en l’espace de cinq mois. c’est éblouissant. Et la pluie n’empêche pas le port du kimono. À l’ensemble s’ajoute un nouvel accessoire : le parapluie. Traditionnel, transparent ou coloré pour un ajout de style.

Marcher dans Kyoto, c’est marcher dans le passé et dans l’esthétisme. Chaque kimono est une oeuvre d’art, vestige de traditions japonaises. Bien que profondément ancré dans la culture, le port du kimono est en disparition. De moins en moins de Japonais possèdent de véritables kimonos et son utilisation est de plus en plus limitée.