Melody - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

An altruistic love

In a small corner of paradise, Tiandi Wildlife Sanctuary, Julia takes care of kangaroos and possums, orphans or survivors of road accidents.

Coiled on my lap, Melody quietly swallows the warm milk from the bottle I hold in my hand. I look up from her sweet little face to watch the wind make the trees dance. It’s been two weeks since I started volunteering at Tiandi Wildlife Sanctuary. It is mid February and it is very hot.

Braidwood is a small, charming old style village one hour from Canberra in the state of New South Wales. The landscape is divided between desert plains where cows graze and small islets of Eucalyptus. From Braidwood, drive about twenty minutes north and you arrive at Tiandi, a wildlife sanctuary dedicated to the survival of kangaroos and possums. Two white ponies, a few sheep guarded by an alpaca, chickens chatting, a dam where about twenty geese and ducks spend their days, some roosters, a beautiful vegetable garden, a house on stilts, a few greenhouses where grow salads, herbs and flowers and some snakes, we are in Australia after all. All surrounded by Eucalyptus.

“I saw the word Tiandi somewhere, years ago,” explains Julia, “and I told myself that the day I would have my own little place, I would call it Tiandi.” Of Chinese origin, “tiān dì” (天地) means “heaven and earth”, “world”, “field of activity”. With a different writing “tián dì (田地) means” agricultural land “,” cultivated land “. A name that corresponds to the little paradise created by Julia and Martin.

When they bought the property, 14 years ago, there was nothing. They built a small cabin, then a beautiful house designed by Julia. The little cabin is now a rental farmstay. A farm shop, a shed and a small house housing the volunteers have since been built and pretty gardens and vegetable gardens flourish with the seasons.

Taking care of a wildlife sanctuary dedicated to the rescue and release of native animals it’s showing incredible altruism. Despite the destruction of the natural habitat and the killing of kangaroos, possums, wombats and other native animals on the roads and through hunting (organized or unorganized), the Australian state offers no financial assistance to hundreds of small sanctuaries spread across the country.

Joshy and Jimmy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Prinnie and Maya - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Julia, Maya, Joshy and Prinnie - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Dahlia - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Little brushtail possum - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Little brushtail possum - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Melody - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

Julia spends her days caring for her little proteges, spends large sums of money on food and veterinary care, consumes liters of water in a washing machine without any support in return. Just out of love and respect for those incredible animals around us. Despite some of the difficulties that this lifestyle may raise, Julia and Martin are resourceful and inventive. Martin is a professional painter, Julia creates natural skincare products, the cottage generates a fairly regular income, garden vegetables, eggs, honey are sold in the farmshop, at the supermarket in Braidwood or at other retail shops. They also have a foodvan that they bring to festivals to sell homemade food. And volunteers from all over the world come to help Tiandi’s operation.

“We’ve been part of the helpx network for five years,” says Julia. “Apart from maybe a few weeks here and there, we have people all year round.” HelpX is a global program used by travelers based on volunteer work in exchange for free accommodation and food. In my opinion, this is one of the best things that exists for people who travel. It’s a great way to visit a country on a budget, meet locals, get involved in culture and learn constantly. Without the volunteers, managing Tiandi would be a titanic job.

“I did not really choose to take care of kangaroos. They are the ones who chose me, “Julia tells me when I ask her why her refuge is dedicated to kangaroos and not wombats. “When people started to know about the sanctuary, they started bringing in the injured or abandoned animals that they found and they were mainly kangaroos.” Caring for kangaroos and wombats involves two rather different systems and an existing wombats refuge already settled the other side of Braidwood, Julia decided to specialize in kangaroos. Added to these are the possums, which do not require a lot of work and a few rare sugar glider (small flying marsupial), impossible to refuse with their tiny cute face.

Joshy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Joshy and Jimmy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Joshy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Alvin - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Bentley - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

So what does working in a wildlife sanctuary means?

My day begins by opening the shelters for chickens, geese and ducks. Fill their water and grains and harvest the eggs. Then I get Zena’s empty food bowl, the possum in pre-release. Zena’s mother was attacked by dogs and died of wounds. Zena was saved by locals. Zena spent 3 months in the house. Since a week she has been put in a large outdoor cage where local possums come to meet her during the night. This is a very important step before the release of a possum. If this one is released without the local possums having met him before, the animal will probably be killed by other possums during his first night in the wild. These small nocturnal furry balls are very territorial animals. That’s why it’s important to go through the pre-release stage. Apart from ensuring that they have food, the possums do not require much work.

I then pick up some fresh grass for the kangaroos and water the greenhouses where the seedlings, herbs and salads grow. Then comes the turn to feed baby Kangaroos. A bottle of warm milk for everyone. In Australia, a baby kangaroo is called a “joey”. At the beginning of my stay, there were eleven joeys to take care of. Dahlia, intrepid asocial (red-necked wallaby, 5-6 months, road accident) stays inside the house. At this age, in wild, the little joey spends most of his time in his mom’s pouch. But Dahlia does not have a mother and a well-marked personality. Julia may try to leave her in her substitution pouch(cloth bags hanging around the house), the young swampy prefers to hop around and nibble constantly. Bentley (eastern-gray kangaroo, 1 year and a half, road accident) is a small, fragile joey with a broken tail. He is not very active, very gentle and prefers to spend his days in his pouch. With his so tender eyes, he can melts anyone. On the closed outdoor terrace is Melody (eastern-gray kangaroo, 1 year and a half, found alone in the bush). She arrived at Julia’s house when she was “pink”, which means a tiny baby without hair. Melody is blind on the left eye and has cataracts on the right eye. She moves slowly and awkwardly. She is very sweet like Bentley and she’s probably my favorite. Joshy and Jimmy are the best friends in the world. Joshy is a mischievous swamp wallaby and Jimmy is a red-necked wallaby with a red coat like a fox. They are one year old and arrived at Julia’s home two months ago to be released. They were raised “from pinky” in another shelter. They are always together, sleep in the same pouch and love caresses. Prinnie (red-necked wallaby, 14 months old, her mom got stuck in a fence) and Maya (swamp wallaby, 14 months, recovered from the pouchof her dead mother) are a little older and more distant. Prinnie is not afraid of anything and Maya is scared easily. And finally the last of the “youngsters”, Hobo is a 14-month-old swamp wallaby, who has come with Jimmy and Joshy and who likes to escape whenever he gets the chance.

In a small enclosure adjacent to the house are Zoro, Alvin and Chino. Zoro is a swamp wallaby (18 months old, caught trapped in an orchard) that will soon be released. He is difficult to take seriously as his clumsy behavior is subject to laugh. Alvin (3-year-old eastern-gray, his mother was killed by a bus driver while he was still “pink”) and Chino (2-year-old wallaroo, rescued by a citizen while her mother was killed by a car and who took care of her for two months without realizing that she had broken jaw) are almost adults. It has been a long time since they should have been released, but their respective conditions prevent them from doing so. Alvin, a quiet force who loves hugs, is blind and despite Julia’s attempts to teach him to go outside, it does not work. And Chino, big black eyes and a superb coat, has a malformed jaw because of her accident. So feeding is a bit difficult and she can not graze grass.

“You fall in love with each one of them,” Julia tells me, and it’s hard to not agree looking at their beautiful little faces. And it’s not every day in Australia that I have the chance to take care of little joeys! Of course, not everything is always perfect. It is necessary to clean the poo every day, to be careful of the powerful legs when handling the small ones and to face the unforeseen of life. It’s been a week since Hobo disappeared. He decided to free himself and set sail one morning. I just have to hope that he gets out without worries. And then death hit us. Sudden and relentless. Bentley has left us. Saturday, February 17 at night, the little ball of fur fell asleep and did not wake up. It had been a few days since he was not eating a lot. “It destroys your heart every time,” Julia told me, her voice broken. I nod, my heart aching, having a hard time realizing that the little ball of clumsy hair I’ve fed and loved in recent weeks has gone. But it’s hard to know what’s wrong with kangaroos. The eastern-gray are also known to be fragile. And then the very limited number of veterinary wildlife does not help.

Bentley - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Jimmy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Chino - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Alvin - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Zoro - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

Last night shots rang out. At each shot, I felt like my life was suspended. « Please, not Hobo.” “The shot probably missed the animal.” Thoughts about kangaroos did cross my mind. Part of the Australian population, including one of Julia’s neighbors consider that wild night hunting is the solution to regulate the stupid and cumbersome animals that are according to them, the kangaroos. So the solution is to go at dawn on a 4×4 through the bush and illuminate the environment with big spotlights. It is well known, the Kangaroos stop in front of the light. (Normal for a nocturnal animal). Perfect for flushing and shooting them without distinction. Male alpha, female and joey, everything.

This massacre of the population of kangaroos, we do not hear much about it in Australia. It is certainly not very good for tourism to evoke the slaughter of the national symbol. Proponents of this barbaric practice point out that kangaroos invade pastures and come to eat the food of farm animals. “They are a pest”. A contradiction given the native nature of kangaroos in Australia. So yes, the animals come to graze the meadow grass but the problem does not come from them, it comes from us, human society. With the establishment of intensive livestock farming and the destruction of natural areas, landscapes are transformed into meadows. Green and deforested areas as far as the eye can see. Kangaroos know that feeding on this big green space is easy. And the reproduction follows. This is why despite the massacre that is not the right solution anyway as it is inhumane, the population of kangaroos fortunately does not decrease that much.

I look at Melody and her way of moving, slightly inclined on her right side, where she can still distinguish some forms. I watch her ears move according to the sounds, her front legs still so small and I wonder about the consequences of this killing on the population of kangaroos. This animal live in bands where lot of knowledge that most of us do not even know is shared. Eliminate some of this knowledge and the learning and organization of their society is wobbly. What impact does the irresponsibility of humans have on the kangaroo population today? And this is not limited to kangaroos. All over the world, native and introduced animal populations, environments, oceans suffer from the disrespect and brutality of the human. What can I do to change things?

The next time I see a kangaroo (or other animal) on the side of the road, I’ll stop and check if a little joey was left to die alone without any compassion.* Next time someone boasts of killing kangaroos or treating them as “pest,” I will raise my voice against this bunch of nonsense. And then I will continue to drive slowly at dawn and at dusk. I will continue to treat them with respect and wonder. These are just tiny actions on a global scale. But all change begin with small steps.

A mommy and joey - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Kacey - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Me and Bentley - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

* If you find a small joey (or other animal) on the side of the road, put it in a dark space (bag, box, etc.), do not make too much noise, try to give him something to drink, honey or sugar (put this on your finger and spread on his gums). And contact Wires, wildlife rescue: 1300 094 737.

Leave a Reply

Melody - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

Un amour altruiste

Dans un petit coin de paradis, Tiandi Wildlife Sanctuary, Julia s’occupe de subvenir aux besoins de kangourous et possums orphelins ou survivants d’accidents de la route.

Lovée sur mes genoux, Melody avale tranquillement le lait chaud du biberon que je tiens dans ma main. Je lève les yeux de sa petite bouille adorable pour regarder le vent faire danser les arbres. Cela fait deux semaines que je fais du volontariat chez Tiandi wildlife sanctuary. On est milieu Février et il fait très chaud.

Braidwood est un petit village au charme ancien situé à  une heure de Canberra dans l’état du New South Wales. Le paysage se partage entre plaines désertiques où grazent les vaches et petits îlots d’Eucalyptus. Depuis Braidwood, roulez une vingtaine de minutes vers le nord et vous arrivez à  Tiandi, un wildlife sanctuary dédié à  la survie de kangourous et possums. Deux poneys blancs, quelques moutons gardés par un alpaca, des poules qui papotent, un réservoir d’eau où une vingtaine d’oies et canards passent leurs journées, quelques coqs mal lunés, un superbe potager, une maison sur pilotis, des serres où poussent des salades, herbes et fleurs et quelques serpents, on est en Australie après tout. Le tout entouré d’Eucalyptus.

« J’ai vu le mot Tiandi quelque part, des années auparavant » m’explique Julia, « et je me suis dit que le jour où je posséderais mon petit coin à moi, je l’appellerais Tiandi ». D’origine chinoise, « tiān dì » (天地) signifie « ciel et terre », « monde », « champ d’activité ». Avec une écriture différente « tián dì (田地) signifie « terres agricoles », « terres cultivées ». Un nom qui correspond pas mal au petit paradis créé par Julia et Martin.

Lorsqu’ils ont acheté la propriété, 14 ans auparavant, il n’y avait rien. Ils ont construit une petite cabane, puis une superbe maison designée par Julia. La petite cabane est désormais un cottage en location. Un farm shop, un entrepôt et une petite maison hébergeant les volontaires ont été depuis construits et de jolis jardins et potagers florissent au rythme des saisons.

S’occuper d’un wildlife sanctuary dédié au sauvetage et remise en forme puis en liberté d’animaux natifs s’est faire preuve d’un altruisme incroyable. Malgré la destruction de l’habitat naturel et le massacre des kangourous, possums, wombats et autres animaux natifs sur les routes et via la chasse (organisée ou non organisée), l’état australien n’offre aucune aide financière aux centaines de petits sanctuaires étalés à  travers le pays.

Joshy and Jimmy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Prinnie and Maya - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Julia, Maya, Joshy and Prinnie - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Dahlia - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Little brushtail possum - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Little brushtail possum - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Melody - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

Julia passe ses journées à  s’occuper de ses petits protégés, dépense de grandes sommes d’argent en nourriture et en soins vétérinaires, consomme des litres d’eau en machine à  laver et ce, sans aucun support en retour. Juste par amour et respect pour ces incroyables animaux qui nous entourent. Malgré certaines difficultés que ce mode de vie peut soulever, Julia et Martin font preuve de resources et d’inventivité. Martin est peintre professionnel, Julia crée des produits de soin naturels, le cottage génère un revenu assez régulier, les légumes du jardin, oeufs, miel sont vendus dans le farmshop, au supermarché de Braidwood ou chez d’autres particuliers. Ils possèdent également un foodvan qu’ils emmènent lors de festivals pour vendre de la nourriture maison. Et des volontaires du monde entier viennent en permanence aider au fonctionnement de Tiandi.

« Cela fait cinq ans que nous faisons partis du réseau helpx » me dit Julia. « À part peut-être quelques semaines par-ci par-là , nous avons du monde tout le long de l’année ». HelpX est un programme mondial utilisé par les voyageurs se basant sur du travail en bénévolat en échange d’un hébergement gratuit et de la nourriture. Selon moi, c’est une des meilleures choses qui existent pour les gens qui voyagent. C’est un formidable moyen de visiter un pays à  budget réduit, de rencontrer les locaux, de s’insérer dans la culture et d’apprendre en permanence. Sans les volontaires, gérer Tiandi serait un travail de titan.

« Je n’ai pas vraiment choisi de m’occuper de kangourous. Ce sont eux qui m’ont choisi » me raconte Julia lorsque je lui demande pourquoi son refuge est dédié aux kangourous et non pas aux wombats. « Lorsque les gens ont commencé à  être au courant de l’existence d’un refuge, ils se sont mis à  amener les animaux blessés ou abandonnés qu’ils trouvaient et c’était principalement des kangourous ». S’occuper de kangourous et de wombats implique deux systèmes assez différents et un refuge pour wombats existant déjà  de l’autre coté de Braidwood, Julia a décidé de se spécialiser dans les kangourous. À cela s’ajoute les possums, qui ne demandent pas beaucoup de travail et quelques rares sugar glider (petit marsupial volant), impossible à  refuser avec leurs petits bouilles magnifiques.

Joshy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Joshy and Jimmy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Joshy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Alvin - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Bentley - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

Ça veut dire quoi travailler à  Tiandi ?

Ma journée commence par ouvrir les abris des poules, oies et canards. Les ravitailler en eau, en graines et récolter les oeufs. Puis je récupére le bol de nourriture vide de Zena, la possum en pré-libération. La maman de Zena fut attaquée par des chiens et mourut de blessures. Zena fut sauvée par des locaux. Zena a passé 3 mois au sein de la maison. Depuis une semaine elle se trouve dans une grande cage extérieure où les possums du coin viennent faire sa connaissance durant la nuit. C’est une étape très importante avant la remise en liberté d’un possum. Si celui-ci est libéré sans que les possums du coin aient fait sa connaissance auparavant, l’animal sera probablement tué par d’autres possums durant sa première nuit dans la nature. Ces petites boules de poils nocturnes sont des animaux très territoriaux. C’est pourquoi il est important de passer par l’étape de pré-libération. À part veiller à  ce qu’ils aient de la nourriture, les possums de demandent pas beaucoup de travail.

Je ramasse ensuite un peu d’herbe fraiche pour les kangourous et arrose les serres où poussent les semis, herbes et salades. Puis vient le tour de nourrir les bébés Kangourous. Une bouteille de lait tiède pour chacun. En Australie, un bébé kangourous s’appelle un « joey ». Au début de mon séjour, il y avait onze joeys à  s’occuper. Dahlia, intrépide asociale (red-necked wallaby, 5-6 mois, accident de la route) reste à  l’intérieur de la maison. À cet âge là , dans la nature, le petit joey passe la majorité de son temps dans la poche de sa maman. Mais Dahlia n’a pas de maman et une personnalité bien marquée. Julia a beau essayer de la laisser dans sa poche en substitution (des poches en tissu pendues un peu partout dans la maison), la jeune swampy préfère sautiller en peu partout et grignoter en permanence. Bentley (eastern-grey kangaroo, 1 an et demi, accident de la route) est un petit fragile joey avec la queue cassée. Il n’est pas très actif, très doux et préfère passer ses journées dans sa poche. Avec ses grands yeux au regard si tendre, il fait fondre n’importe qui. Sur la terrasse extérieur fermée se trouve Melody (eastern-grey kangaroo, 1 an et demi, trouvée seule dans le bush). Elle est arrivée chez Julia lors qu’elle était « pink », ce qui veut dire un minuscule bébé sans poil. Melody est aveugle de l’oeil gauche et à  une cataracte à  l’oeil droit. Elle se déplace doucement et maladroitement. Elle est très douce comme Bentley et c’est probablement ma préférée. Joshy et Jimmy sont les meilleurs amis du monde. Joshy est un swamp wallaby au regard malicieux et Jimmy est un red-necked wallaby au pelage roux comme un renard. Ils sont agés d’un an et sont arrivés il y a deux mois chez Julia pour être relâchés. Ils ont été élevés « from pinky » dans un autre refuge. Ils sont toujours ensemble, dorment dans la même poche et adorent les caresses. Prinnie (red-necked wallaby, 14 mois, sa maman s’est retrouvée coincée dans une clôture) et Maya (swamp wallaby, 14 mois, récupérée de la poche de sa maman morte) sont un peu plus âgées et plus distantes. Prinnie est n’hésite devant rien et Maya est effrayée facilement. Et enfin le dernier des « jeunots », Hobo est un samp wallaby de 14 mois, venu avec Jimmy et Joshy, qui se fait la malle dès qu’il en a l’occasion.

Dans un petit enclos adjacent à  la maison, se trouve Zoro, Alvin et Chino. Zoro est un swamp wallaby (18 mois, trouvé pris au piège dans un verger) qui va bientôt être relâché. Il est difficile à  prendre au sérieux tant son comportement pataud est sujet aux rigolades. Alvin (eastern-grey, 3 ans, sa maman fut tuée par un chauffeur de bus alors qu’il était encore « pink ») et Chino (wallaroo, 2 ans, sauvé par un citoyen alors que sa maman avait été tué par une voiture et qui s’en est occupé pendant deux mois sans se rendre compte qu’elle avait la mâchoire cassée) sont presque des adultes. Cela fait longtemps qu’ils auraient dû être libérés mais leur condition respective les en empêche. Alvin, une force tranquille qui aime les câlins, est aveugle et malgré les tentatives de Julia pour lui apprendre à  se diriger à  l’extérieur, cela ne marche pas. Et Chino, de grands yeux noirs et un pelage superbe, a la mâchoire malformée à  cause de son accident. Du coup s’alimenter est un peu difficile et elle ne peut pas brouter l’herbe des près.

« Tu tombes amoureux de chacun d’entre eux » me dit Julia et force est de constater qu’il est difficile de rester de marbre devant ses petites bouilles magnifiques. Et puis ce n’est pas tous les jours en Australie que l’on a la chance de s’occuper de petits joeys ! Bien sûr tout n’est pas rose en permanence. Il faut nettoyer les déjections tous les jours, faire attention aux coups de pattes puissants lorsque l’on manipule les petits et faire face aux imprévus de la vie. Cela fait une petite semaine qu’Hobo a disparu. Il a décidé de se libérer de lui-même et a mit les voiles un beau matin. Il n’y a plus qu’à  espérer qu’il s’en sorte sans soucis. Et puis la mort a frappé. Soudaine et implacable. Bentley nous a quitté. Samedi 17 Février au soir, la petite boule de poil s’est endormi et ne s’est pas réveillé. Cela faisait quelques jours qu’il ne mangeait pas grand chose. « Cela te détruit le coeur à  chaque fois » me dit Julia la voix cassée. J’acquiesce, le coeur serré, ayant du mal à  réaliser que la petite boule de poil pataude que j’ai nourri et aimé ces dernières semaines s’en ai allé. Mais il est difficile de savoir ce qui ne va pas avec les kangourous. Les eastern-grey sont d’ailleurs réputés pour être de condition fragile. Et puis le nombre très limité de wildlife vétérinaires n’aide pas.

Bentley - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Jimmy - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Chino - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Alvin - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Zoro - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

La nuit dernière, des coups de feu ont retenti. À chaque coup, j’avais l’impression que ma vie était suspendue. «S’il vous plaît, pas Hobo». «Le coup de feu a probablement manqué à l’animal». Des pensées au sujet des kangourous m’ont traversé l’esprit. Une partie de la population australienne, y compris l’un des voisins de Julia, estime que la chasse sauvage de nuit est la solution pour réglementer les animaux stupides et encombrants qu’ils considèrent que sont kangourous. La solution est donc d’aller à la tombée de la nuit sur un 4 × 4 à travers la brousse et d’éclairer l’environnement avec de grands projecteurs. C’est bien connu, les kangourous s’arrêtent devant la lumière. (Normal pour un animal nocturne). Parfait pour tirer et les éliminer sans distinction. Alpha mâle, femelle, joey, tout y passe.

Ce massacre de la population de kangourous, on n’en entend pas beaucoup parler en Australie. Ce n’est certainement pas très bon pour le tourisme d’évoquer le massacre du symbole national. Les partisans de cette pratique barbare soulignent que les kangourous envahissent les pâturages et viennent manger la nourriture des animaux de la ferme. « Ils sont une peste ». Une contradiction étant donné la nature indigène des kangourous en Australie. Alors oui, les animaux viennent brouter l’herbe des prés, mais le problème ne vient pas d’eux, il vient de nous, de la société humaine. Avec la mise en place d’un élevage intensif et la destruction d’espaces naturels, les paysages sont transformés en prairies. Zones vertes et déboisées à perte de vue. Les kangourous savent qu’il est facile de se nourrir de ce grand espace vert. Et la reproduction suit. C’est pourquoi, malgré le massacre qui n’est de toute façon pas la bonne solution car inhumain, la population de kangourous ne diminue heureusement pas beaucoup.

Je regarde Melody et sa façon de bouger, légèrement inclinée du côté droit où elle peut encore distinguer certaines formes. Je regarde ses oreilles bouger en fonction des bruits, ses pattes avant sont encore si petites et je m’interroge sur les conséquences de cet assassinat sur la population de kangourous. Ces animaux vivent en bandes où beaucoup de connaissances que la plupart d’entre nous ignorons sont partagées. Éliminez une partie de ces connaissances et l’apprentissage ainsi que l’organisation de leur société sont instables. Quel est l’impact de l’irresponsabilité des humains sur la population de kangourous aujourd’hui? Et cela ne se limite pas aux kangourous. Partout dans le monde, les populations animales indigènes et introduites, les environnements et les océans souffrent du manque de respect et de la brutalité de l’homme. Que puis-je faire pour changer les choses?

La prochaine fois que je verrai un kangourou (ou un autre animal) sur le bord de la route, je m’arrêterai pour vérifier si un petit joey est mort seul sans aucune compassion *. La prochaine fois, quelqu’un se vantera de tuer des kangourous ou de les traiter comme « peste », je vais élever la voix contre ce ramassis de bêtises. Et puis je continuerai à conduire lentement à l’aube et au crépuscule. Je continuerai à les traiter avec respect et émerveillement. Ce ne sont que de petites actions à l’échelle mondiale. Mais tout changement commence par petites étapes.

A mommy and joey - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Kacey - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld
Me and Bentley - Tiandi Wildlife sanctuary - New South Wales - Australia - © Claire Blumenfeld

* Si vous trouvez un petit joey (ou un autre animal) sur le bord de la route, placez-le dans un espace sombre (sac, boîte, etc.), ne faites pas trop de bruit, essayez de lui donner à boire, miel ou du sucre (mettez le sur votre doigt et étalez le sur ses gencives). Et contactez Wires, wildlife rescue: 1300 094 737.

Leave a Reply